jump to content
Search the website

Who We Are

The South Wales Crucible consortium includes world-leading universities (Swansea, Cardiff, Bangor and Aberystwyth), research centres of excellence, and internationally significant firms. The consortium is supported by the Welsh Government and aligns with the City Deals.

Stretching from the Severn Estuary to the Irish Sea, the South Wales Crucible covers the largest concentration of economic activity in Wales. Encompassing the major urban centres of Cardiff, Newport, Neath Port Talbot and Swansea. Our area is home to 2.2 million people, some 1.4 million of whom are of working age, which is roughly 3% of the UK on both measures. Our core geography covers the two city-regions (Cardiff Capital Region and Swansea Bay City Region) of South Wales. However, a logical and flexible approach has been applied in defining the consortium’s spatial footprint. Crucially therefore, the reach of our consortium extends to other parts of Wales, including Aberystwyth (agri-food tech), Bangor (energy), and Deeside (steel and advanced manufacturing), reflecting our themes’ functional economic areas and the distribution of key science and innovation assets, plus the important flows and linkages between them. Additionally, we have strong links to significant sectors, clusters, universities, RTOs and science parks across the wider UK and globally.